Daily Archives: November 11, 2010

Build Your Own Craftworld- the concept

Craftworld Nazumi has been kicking around my head for about 15 years, in that time it has grown from a colour scheme (purple and green), through a handful of special characters, past fluff about gameplay and unit selection into a fairly coherent and established background. At least it is coherent and established in my own mind.

This  isn’t about establishing that background though, this is about taking it to the next level. I’ve decided to build the Craftworld. All those Gleaming towers, crystalline walkways, and wide sweeping plazas, or at least some of it.

My plan is to build 2, ‘Plazas’ on 24 x24 inch bases and a single ‘tower’ (with walkways) on a 48 x 24 inch,  together they can be joined together to create a 4 x 4 Craftworld board. Of course no-one plays on a 4 x 4 board so I’ll also build ground  scenery, – crystal forests,  fountains and statues to fill the other 2 x 4 feet.

Craftworld Nazumi- Scenery Concept

This is part of a series of scenery projects I will likely plan start and never finish, but whatever gets done you can follow it here. So my questions for you dear readers is what should I be making this out of? Can it be done in card or should I invest in some plasticard?  and perhaps most importantly will I ever get this done?

Any tips, suggestions, hints or healthy scepticism gratefully received. If anyone else has tried something similar let me know.

Geek at 73