The Problem with Warmachine

I’m trying to expand my gaming horizons.

I want to get into some games beyond the Games Workshop stable. Not that I have any problem with the GW games, but there are other games out there and I want to see whats up.

So I’m getting into Warmachine. I bought a Menoth starter set, and the Protectorate book and the MKII prime book, and I’ve got to say it looks cool. The models are great, the books are beautiful and the rules seem to really foster clever play. I’ve not played a game yet but I’m already thinking about what I’ll buy next.

But for me there is a major flaw with Warmachine.

Warcasters.

Kreos- Menoth Warcaster

More specifically the fact that your army is led by warcasters created by Privateer Press, and each party MUST have one of those warcasters.

Now I’ve nothing wrong with the warcasters they’ve made, Kreos looks great and I’m thinking of buying a Feora as an alternate, but I like to make my own characters. Part of what I love about hobbying is coming up with the back story and ‘fluff’ for my army. It’s why I don’t use special characters and why I have created my own Craftworld, Space Marine Chapter and Ogre Tribe. Its why I am in this hobby, and I kinda resent being told that I have to use ‘this character’ and play ‘this way’.

So I’ll learn to play, and I’ll paint the models and I’ll probably spend a hundred bucks on the hobby, but I’m not sure I will ever get into it the way I have got into the GW Millieu. Time will tell.

Geek at 73


2 responses to “The Problem with Warmachine

  • Owen

    I don’t see the problem. Creating an Ogre tribe or Craftworld doesn’t change the rules of how those armies work. It’s an exercise in aesthetic and fluff creativity.

    Why not do the same with your Protectorate force. Sculpt/Convert a new ‘caster, but use te rules for an existing one. Give them an exciting backstory and have that story impact the aesthetic of there army. The theme forces give some interesting army composition options; why not create a new ‘caster and style to lead one?

    Owen

    • Geek at 73

      Yeah, I could see that working.
      Part of me wants to say “but I’d know it’s really just Severius with a head swap”, but I also know that that would be being precious.
      I guess ultimately I’m lamenting the lack of a generic or customisable, generic warcaster, But you’ve already got me thinking about what models in the range could be converted.

Leave a comment